After the 2007 Etape: “I’m covered in beetles!”

After the long ride was over, we started our even longer drive back to our hotel – we drove parallel to the route on main roads rather than taking the twisting mountain roads. There’s nothing like going back on yourself to get an impression of distance – I’ll be doing this after TRAT too, as we will be driving back to London over the two days following.

On the way back we picked up some wine and some pizza as we expected the hotel bar to be closed by the late hour we got back.

The evening eventually ended with myself, Rupert and the hoteliers wife getting smashed on red wine sitting outside the hotel. On stumbling back to my room I found Bryony by the open window, naked, saying “Turn out the light! I’m covered in beetles!”

At some point in the night, the room had filled up with beetles, and Bryony was trying to shoo them out of the room.

I’m still not sure we didn’t hallucinate the beetles but real or imaginary, we chased them out of the room before falling in to a deep and well deserved sleep.

The next day we hitched in to the nearest town, found a bar and stayed there for much of the day, watching the Tour de France.

One response to “After the 2007 Etape: “I’m covered in beetles!”

  1. What made it worse for me is that I was having a full-on hypo, where hallucinations are the name of the game anyway. Despite the sugar-starved brain and the drunken one, we think the beetle invasion really happened… surreal in the extreme!

Leave a Reply

